All IndiaIndianLatest

Congress Suspends 5 Gujarat Rebel MLAs, Flies Out 22 For Safe-Keeping

The Congress wishes 72 votes to win two seats within the Rajya Sabha polls (Representational)

New Delhi:

The Congress on Monday suspended 5 MLAs who’ve hand over the Gujarat meeting simply days prior to the Rajya Sabha elections, leaving the birthday party at risk of shedding considered one of its sure-shot seats in the home ruled via the opposition.

MLAs Somabhai Patel, JV Kakadiya, Pradyumansinh Jadeja, Pravin Maru and Mangal Gavit had been suspended for “brushing aside the birthday party”, stated Gujarat Congress leader Amit Chavda.

The Congress additionally flew 22 extra of its MLAs from Gujarat to Jaipur for safe-keeping. The birthday party has already dispatched 41 MLAs in two batches at the weekend, forward of the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections, wherein 3 BJP applicants and two Congress applicants are within the contest for 4 seats.

Rajya Sabha elections in Gujarat, the house state of High Minister Narendra Modi, have over time transform a status combat for the 2 primary events.

The Congress acted in Gujarat after the BJP fielded applicants in 3 of the 4 Rajya Sabha seats, regardless that going via its meeting energy, it will possibly safely win simplest two. The Congress additionally has two nominees.

Within the 182-member Gujarat meeting, the BJP has 103 seats whilst the Congress has 68 after the resignations of its 5 MLAs. The Congress wishes 74 votes to win two seats.

To win the 3rd seat, the BJP wishes 111 votes, which will occur if Congress MLAs cross-vote. The BJP additionally has the make stronger of 2 MLAs of the Bharatiya Tribal Birthday celebration.

Elections to 55 Rajya Sabha seats around the nation can be hung on March 26.

The BJP, which enjoys an enormous majority within the Lok Sabha, has 82 participants within the Rajya Sabha; it wishes 120 for a majority within the 245-member area. After shedding a string of elections since December 2018, the BJP fears that it’ll lose extra seats in Rajya Sabha, the place participants are elected via MLAs.

The BJP has in recent years misplaced seven states that in combination ship 43 participants to the Rajya Sabha.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *